Ukrainian hryvnia conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Ukrainian hryvnia →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Ukrainian hryvnia

Worldwide use:


The Hryvnia is the currency of Ukraine, with subunits of 100 Kopiyok to one Hryvnia. As a result of devaluation, small value Kopiyok coins and notes like the 1 Hryvnia are still in common use, similar to the US one dollar bill. The coinage comes in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Kopiyok and 1 Hryvnia. Banknotes come in 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 Hryvnia.

The Ukrainian Hryvnia symbol was launched in March 2004. The design was the result of a public contest held by the National Bank of Ukraine. The chosen symbol is a reversed 'S' with two strokes through the middle. The horizontal lines symbolize stability and are also used in the Japanese Yen (¥) and Euro (€) symbols.


During the Kieven Rus period (9th – 13th Century), an area stretching from the Baltic in the north to the Black Sea in the south, now known as Ukraine, was inhabited by a federation of east Slavic tribes. The currency for the Kieven Rus period in the eleventh century was called Grivna, thought to derive from the Slavic word "griva" meaning "mane" which may have indicated something valuable worn around the neck, usually made of gold or silver. The modern Ukrainian Hryvnia is sometimes translated as hryvna, hrivna, gryvna or grivna.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: