Ugandan shilling conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Ugandan shilling →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Ugandan shilling

Worldwide use:


The Shilling is the official currency of Uganda. Subdivided into Cents until 2013, the Shilling now has no subdivision. The coinage comes in denominations of 100, 200 and 500 Shillings which are more frequently used and the rarely used 10 and 50 Shilling coins. Banknotes come in denominations of 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000, 20000 and 50000 Shilling notes.

Uganda was the first African country to introduce the advanced security feature SPARK to its banknotes. SPARK is an optical anti-forgery feature that is recognized globally by central banks.


The currency of Uganda is the Shilling which replaced the East African Shilling at par in 1966. By 1987, following a period of high inflation, the new Shilling was introduced with a value of 1 new Shilling = 100 old Shillings. In May 2010 the Bank of Uganda issued a new family of harmonized notes, depicting Uganda's rich historical, natural and cultural heritage.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: