Turkmenistan manat conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Turkmenistan manat →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Turkmenistan manat

Worldwide use:


Turkmenistan was a former state of the Soviet union and started issuing its own currency from 1993. Monetary reform in 2009 saw the issuance of new coins in the denomination of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Tenge. 1 and 2 Manat coins are also available. The notes are denominated in 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 500 Manat bills.

Instead of its official symbol 'T' an 'M' is sometimes used to write prices in Manat. For example, 25000M. The word 'Manat' has been passed on from the Russian word 'moheta' or 'moneta' meaning 'coin' and was the name of the Soviet Ruble in Turkmenistan before its conversion to the Manat.


The Manat was introduced on 1st November 1993, replacing the Russian Ruble at a rate of 1 Manat to 500 Rubles. On 1st January 2009, a new Manat was introduced at a rate of 5000 old Manat to 1 new Manat.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: