Tongan paʻanga conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Tongan paʻanga →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Tongan paʻanga

Worldwide use:


The Tongan Pa'anga is a non-convertible currency and is pegged to a number of currencies, including Australia, New Zealand and the United States. The Pa'anga is subdivided into 100 Seniti. There is also the unit of Hau with 1 Hau = 100 Pa'anga. The Hau is mainly used on commemorative coins of higher denominations. The main units of currency are the 5, 10, 20 and 50 Seniti and the rarely used 1 and 2 Seniti. Notes are issued in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 T$.

Tongan banknotes use the Tongan language on one side next to a portrait of the monarch and English on the other alongside landmarks, native animals or important figureheads of the country.  


The Pa'anga was introduced on 3rd April 1967 and replaced the Pound at a rate of 2 Pa'anga = 1 Pound. Until 1991 the Pa'anga was pegged to the Australian Dollar at par. Since then it has been pegged to a range of currencies and has steadily declined in value. The name Pa'anga comes from a bean like vine which produces large pods with large reddish brown seeds 5cm in diameter. When strung together, these seeds are used as anklets during ceremonial dances and also for use in an ancient throwing game.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: