Sri Lankan rupee conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Sri Lankan rupee →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Sri Lankan rupee

Worldwide use:


The Sri Lankan Rupee is the official currency of Sri Lanka. One Sri Lankan Rupee is worth 100 Cents. Coins are issued in 1, 2, 5 and 10 Rupees and 25 and 50 Cents. Banknotes are issued in 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Rupees. 

The back of Sri Lankan Rupee banknotes are printed vertically and the first polymer Sri Lankan Rupee banknote was circulated in 1998. Most banknotes feature images of Sri Lankan prime ministers as well as local plants, flowers, landscapes, culture, trade and historic events.


Sri Lanka was originally named Ceylon and the British Pound was Ceylon’s currency from 1825. In 1836, the Indian Rupee was introduced and became the only legal currency in 1872. Ceylon was named Sri Lanka in 1972 and the Indian Rupee was replaced with the Sri Lankan Rupee at that time.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: