Samoan tālā conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Samoan tālā →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Samoan tālā

Worldwide use:


The Samoan currency is issued and regulated by the Central Bank of Samoa. The coinage comes in denominations of 10, 20 and 50 Sene along with 1 and 2 Tālā coins. Banknotes are issued in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Tālā bills.

Before 1967 Samoa used the New Zealand Pound. After independence, the Tālā and Sene became the official currency of Samoa. "Tālā" means "Dollar" and "Sene" means "Cent."


The Tālā was introduced in 1967 upon Samoa's independence from New Zealand and replaced the Pound at a rate of 2 Tālā = 1 Pound. In 1984, the 1 Tālā note was replaced by a seven sided aluminum bronze coin. In 2011 the 1, 2 and 5 Sene coins were withdrawn from circulation as production costs exceeded value.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: