Qatari riyal conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Qatari riyal →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Qatari riyal

Worldwide use:


The Qatari Riyal currency comes in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Dirhams and banknotes come in denominations and colors of 1 - brown, 5 - green, 10 - orange, 50 - purple, 100 - green and purple, and 500 - blue.

The Qatari Riyal is pegged to the US Dollar at a fixed exchanged rate of 1 USD to 3.64 QAR. This rate has been enshrined in law by Royal decree by Hama Bin Al Khalifa Al Thani, Emir of Qatar.


Until 1966, Qatar used the Indian Rupee as what was locally known as the Gulf Rupee. Due to the effects of devaluation by India in 1966, Qatar, along with a number of other Gulf states introduced their own currency, the Qatari Riyal.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: