Pakistani rupee conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Pakistani rupee →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Pakistani rupee

Worldwide use:


The Pakistani Rupee is the currency of Pakistan. The subunit of the Rupee, the Paisa, has not been issued since 1994. The denominations of coins are 1, 2 and 5 Rupees and for notes 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 Rupees.

Most Pakistani Rupee banknotes have the portrait of Muhammad Ali Jinnah on them. He was the first Governor General and died a year after the country gained independence from the British Raj in 1948. Alongside his portrait the Urdu writing reads 'Hasool-e-Rizq-Halal Ibaadat hai' which means 'Seeking honest livelihood is the Worship of God.'


The word Rupee or Rupaya comes from the word 'Sanskrit' which means 'a coin of silver that has been stamped or impressed with an image or likeness.' The first Rupee was introduced by Sher Shah Suri who ruled the Sur Empire in North India from 1540–1545.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: