Nepalese rupee conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Nepalese rupee →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Nepalese rupee

Worldwide use:


The official currency of Nepal is the Nepalese Rupee. One Nepalese Rupee is worth 100 Paisa. Coins are issued in 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Nepalese Paisa as well as 1, 2, 5 and 10 Nepalese Rupees. Banknotes are issued in 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 Nepalese Rupees. Since the change from kingdom to republic in 2008, Mount Everest has replaced the king on all banknotes.

US Dollars, Euros and Pounds are legal currency in Nepal. The Indian Rupee is also accepted. 500 and 1000 Nepalese Rupee banknotes are notoriously difficult to exchange due to a large circulation of counterfeits notes.


The Nepalese Mohar was Nepal’s currency until 1932 when the Nepalese Rupee was established with one Nepalese Rupee being worth 2 Nepalese Mohars. The value of the Nepalese Rupee was pegged to the Indian Rupee in 1993 with 1.6 Nepalese Rupees being equal to 1 Indian Rupee.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: