Malawian kwacha conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Malawian kwacha →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Malawian kwacha

Worldwide use:


The Malawian Kwacha is the official currency of Malawi. One Malawian Kwacha is worth 100 Tambala. The main coins used are 1, 5 and 10 Kwacha but 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Tambala also exist. Banknotes are issued in 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 Kwacha.

'Kwacha' is the Nyanja and Bemba word for 'dawn.' 'Tambala' means 'Rooster' in Nyanja and the coin was so called due to the first Tambala coin featuring the image of a rooster on its face.  


The currency of Malawi in 1932 was the Southern Rhodesian Pound and was replaced by the Rhodesia and Nyasaland Pound in 1955. The Malawian Pound was introduced in 1964 when Malawi became independent, followed in 1971, by the Malawian Kwacha with two Kwacha to one Malawian Pound.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: