Macedonian denar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Macedonian denar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Macedonian denar

Worldwide use:


The Macedonian Denar is the official currency of the Republic of Macedonia. One Macedonian Denar is made up of 100 Deni. Denari coins come in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10 and 50. Banknotes are issued in 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 Denari.

The early Macedonian Denar banknotes were of very poor quality. This was because they were produced in secret before the Republic of Macedonia claimed its independence. 'Denar' originates from the word 'denarius' which was a Roman unit of currency.


The Yugoslav Dinar was the currency of the Yugoslavian states from 1918 to 2003. In 1991, the Republic of Macedonia claimed its independence and the first Macedonian Denar was established on 26 April 1992. One Macedonia Denar was equal to one Yugoslav Dinar. In 1993, the currency was revalued and new coins and banknotes were issued with one new Denar being worth 100 original Denari.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: