Kuwaiti dinar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Kuwaiti dinar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Kuwaiti dinar

Worldwide use:


Established in 1961 to replace the Gulf Rupee the Kuwaiti Dinar is the official currency of Kuwait. One Dinar is worth 1000 Fils. Kuwait is among the richest countries in the world due to its large oil reserves and thus the Dinar is, at the time of publication, the highest valued and most stable currency in the world. The Kuwaiti Dinar coins are issued in 1, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Fils. The banknotes are also issued in ¼ Dinar, ½ Dinar, 1 Dinar, 5 Dinars, 10 Dinars and 20 Dinars.

The Dinar is the official currency unit of most countries that used to make up the old Ottoman Empire. The word Dinar is taken from the word Denarius which was the currency of the Roman Empire.


Kuwait established independence from the British in 1961. Prior to this from 1930 to 1960 the Indian Rupee was the main form of currency. This was replaced by the Persian Gulf Rupee at par in April 1959. When the Kuwaiti Dinar was introduced in 1961 it was at par with the British Pound Sterling.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: