Jordanian dinar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Jordanian dinar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Jordanian dinar

Worldwide use:


The official currency of Jordan is the Jordanian Dinar. One Jordanian Dinar is made up of 10 Dirham, 100 Qirsh (Piastres) or 1000 Fils. Coins are issued in ½ and 1 Qirsh, 2 ½, 5 and 10 Piastres as well as ¼, ½ and 1 Dinar. Banknotes are in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Dinars. The Jordanian Dinar is also used in the territory known as the West Bank alongside the Israeli Shekel.

Young locals sometimes refer to the currency as 'jay-dee.'


The Palestine Pound was used by Palestine and the Trans-Jordan Emirate from 1927 to 1950. However, Jordan claimed its independence in 1946 and the Jordanian Dinar was established as the country’s sole currency in 1950.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: