Icelandic króna conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Icelandic króna →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Icelandic króna

Worldwide use:


The Króna is the official currency of Iceland. A Króna is made up of 100 Aurar, but Aurar are no longer used due to their low value. Coins are issued in 1, 5, 10, 50 and 100 Krónur. Banknotes come in 500, 1000, 2000, 5000 and 10000 Krónur. 

In September 2002, the Icelandic Prime Minister declared that all invoices and the price of goods should only be given and paid for in whole Krónur. Coins of less than one Króna are therefore no longer in circulation.


The Danish Krone was introduced to Iceland in 1874, replacing the previous Danish currency, the Rigsdaler. The Icelandic Króna separated from the Danish Krone after the dissolution of the Scandinavian Monetary Union at the start of World War I and complete autonomy was established in 1918. In 1981, the Icelandic Króna was revalued due to hyperinflation with 100 old Krónur (ISJ) being worth 1 new Króna (ISK).

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: