Hungarian forint conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Hungarian forint →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Hungarian forint

Worldwide use:


The Forint is the official currency of Hungary. One Forint is worth 100 Fillér however Fillér coins do not exist anymore. Banknotes are issued in 500, 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000 and 20000 Forint. Coins are in 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 Forint.

Hungary is expected to adopt the Euro in the future in line with its membership of the European Union.


The modern Forint was introduced in 1946, after the Second World War. The Forint's name came from Florence, Italy, where gold coins minted from 1252 were called fiorino d'oro. Florentinus was used in Hungary from 1325.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: