Guyanese dollar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Guyanese dollar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Guyanese dollar

Worldwide use:


The Guyanese Dollar is the official currency of Guyana. One Guyanese Dollar is made up of 100 Cents. Coins come in 1, 5 and 10 Dollars. Banknotes are issued in 20, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 Guyanese Dollars.

The Guyanese Dollar was a unit of account in Guyana from 1839, but it was not used as a hard currency until 1966.


Guyana, formerly British Guiana, used British coins in the 1800’s. Then, in 1891, Cent coins were issued, and banknotes were introduced in 1916. On 26 May 1966, Guyana claimed its independence from the British and Guyanese Dollar banknotes were circulated in denominations of 1, 5, 10 and 20 Dollars.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: