Guinean franc conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Guinean franc →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Guinean franc

Worldwide use:


The Guinea Franc is the official currency of Guinea and the second Guinean Franc to be introduced to the country. The current issue of coins in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Francs. Banknotes are available in 100, 500, 1000, 5000, 10000 Francs.

Prior to 1959 Guinean’s official currency was the CFA Franc, also known informally as the Franc by many Africa nations. There is the West African CFA Franc and the East African CFA Franc, both of which are guaranteed by the French Government.


In 1959 the Government of Guinean issued the first Guinea Franc which was replaced by the Syli in 1971. The second Guinea Franc was introduced in 1985 to replace the Syli and remains the official currency of Guinea.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: