Fijian dollar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Fijian dollar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Fijian dollar

Worldwide use:


The Fijian Dollar is the official currency of Fiji. One Fijian Dollar is divided into 100 Cents. Coins come in 5, 10, 20 and 50 Cents as well as 1 and 2 Dollars. Banknotes are issued in 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 200 Dollars.

Even though Fiji had been independent since 1970, Fijian coins and banknotes featured images of Queen Elizabeth II right up until 2013 when images of the queen were replaced with those of local flowers and wildlife. When Fiji established a decimal based system, it used the half pound unit instead of the whole one pound.


The Fijian Dollar was first introduced in 1867. However, when the British took over the ruling of Fiji in 1874, the British Pound Sterling was established as the sole currency. Then, when Fiji reclaimed its independence in 1969–70, the Fijian Dollar was brought back into use on 15 January 1969. In August 2005, the 1 and 2 cent coins were withdrawn as the cost of minting the coins was more than their face value. The 100 Fijian Dollar banknote was also introduced at this time.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: