Falkland Islands pound conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Falkland Islands pound →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Falkland Islands pound

Worldwide use:


The Falkland Islands Pound is used by the Falkland Islands alongside the British Sterling Pound. One Falkland Islands Pound is made up of 100 Pennies. The FK£ is pegged to the Pound Sterling at par. Coins are available in 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Pence as well as 1 and 2 Pounds. Banknotes are issued in 5, 10, 20 and 50 Pounds.

Falkland Island Pound coins feature local wildlife including the penguin, goose, albatross, sea lion, sheep and warrah (fox). Falkland Island Pound banknotes are very similar to British Sterling banknotes but also depict the Falklands’ coat of arms, a map of the islands, penguins and sea lions. On the back they show the parish church, Christ Church Cathedral and Government House.


The Falkland Island Pound was established when the British reclaimed sovereignty of the islands in 1833. At first, British currency was used but banknotes unique to the islands have been in production since 1899 and coins minted since 1974. The Peso also circulated on the islands during the Argentine occupation of April–June 1982.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: