Danish krone conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Danish krone →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Danish krone

Worldwide use:


The Danish Krone is used in Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. One Danish Krone is worth 100 øre. Coins come in 50 øre as well as 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 Kroner. Banknotes are issued in 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 Kroner. The Danish Krone is pegged to the Euro. As of 2013, there were 65.8 billion Kroner in circulation.

The name "Krone" is translated to "Crown" in English. The name øre is from the Latin word aureus which was a gold Roman coin. Originally there were many øre coins but due to their decreased value, they have been phased out. The Faroe Islands use their own version of the Danish Krone which is called the Faroese Króna. The currency is worth exactly the same as the Danish Krone and uses Danish coins, but has its own banknotes.


The earliest Danish coins date back to the 10th century and were called the Korsmønter. In 1625, the Danish Rigsdaler Species was introduced and stayed in place until 1873 when the Scandinavian Monetary Union was established and the Danish Krone was introduced. The currency remained under control of the Scandinavian Monetary Union until it ended in 1914 when Denmark took control. Denmark has considered adopting the Euro as its currency but a public referendum in 2000 voted against this proposal.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: