Croatian kuna conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Croatian kuna →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Croatian kuna

Worldwide use:


The Croatian Kuna was introduced as Croatia’s national currency on 30th May 1994. This followed a period after Croatia declared independence from Yugoslavia in 1990. During this time the Croatian Dinar had replaced the Yugoslav Dinar at par. However, it declined in value by a factor of about 70 until replaced by the Kuna at a rate of 1 Kuna for 1000 Dinar. Lipa coins (the sub unit) come in 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Lipa and 1, 2, 5 and 25 Croatian Kuna. Banknotes are available in 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 kn.

Croatian coins come in two versions, one with the name of a plant or animal in Croatian (issued in odd years) and the other with the Latin name (issued in even years). Croatia joined the European Union on 1 July 2013 and it plans to join the European Monetary System in the future. 


The Croatian word "kuna" means "marten" which was the name of the fur pelts used as a currency in the region during the medieval period. The subunit "Lipa" means Linden Tree in English. 

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: