Bolivian boliviano conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Bolivian boliviano →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Bolivian boliviano

Worldwide use:


The Bolivian Boliviano is the currency of Bolivia. One Boliviano is worth 100 Centavos (cents) and 10 Bolivianos is referred to as "Bolivar." Coins are issued in 10, 20 and 50 Centavos and 1, 2 and 5 Bolivianos. Banknotes come in 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 Bolivianos. All coins in Bolivia feature the words "La union es la Fuerza" ("Union is strength") and "Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia" ("Plurinational state of Bolivia").

A Boliviano used to be split into Centécimos until the subunit was replaced with Centavos in 1870. The 2 Bolivianos coin is minted in two sizes and has eleven sides. When the new Boliviano was introduced, the Peso banknotes were overprinted with the new denominations until the new notes were issued.


The first Boliviano was established in 1864 to replace the Soles and Scudo currency that was already in place. However, the value of the Boliviano fell significantly over the years and so was replaced with the Peso Boliviano in 1963 at a value of 1000 old Bolivianos. Despite this, extreme rates of inflation lead to the new Boliviano being introduced in 1987 and it was worth one million Peso Bolivianos.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: