Bangladeshi taka conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Bangladeshi taka →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Bangladeshi taka

Worldwide use:


The official currency of Bangladesh is the Taka. One Taka is made up of 100 Poisha. Coins are issued as 1, 2, and 5 Taka and 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 Poisha. Banknotes are available in 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, 40, 50, 60, 100, 500 and 1000 Taka as well as the infrequently used 1 Taka.

Taka means money, currency or notes in Bengali. Taka is also similar to "tangka" which is the Sanskrit word for silver coins. The term Taka was also used in India but was used to refer to its own copper coins or as an informal term for money or cash.


Following Bangladesh’s independence from Pakistan, the Taka was introduced in 1972 in replacement of the Pakistan Rupee. Coins for 5, 10, 25 and 50 Poisha were introduced in 1973 and the first 1000 Taka banknote was issued in 2008.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: