Angolan kwanza conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Angolan kwanza →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Angolan kwanza

Worldwide use:


The Kwanza is the official currency of Angola. One Kwanza is made up of 100 Cêntimos. Coins are issued in 1, 2, 5 and 10 Kwanzas. 10 and 50 Cêntimos are also available but rarely used. Banknotes come in 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Kwanzas.

Angolan Kwanza banknotes are very similar in appearance but are differentiated by color. 10 and 50 Cêntimo coins were discontinued as their value is so small.


The Kwanza has been used as four different currencies over time. The original Kwanza, AOK, was introduced on January 8, 1977 after Angola claimed independence. This was replaced by the Novo Kwanza, AON, in 1990 and the Kwanza Reajustado, AOR, in 1995. Today’s Kwanza, AOA, was established on 1 December 1999.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: