Algerian dinar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Algerian dinar →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

Algerian dinar

Worldwide use:


The Algerian Dinar is the currency of Algeria. One Algerian Dinar is made up of 100 Santeem which are no longer in circulation. The most frequently used coins are the 5, 10, 20 and 50 Dinar coins. 1, 2 and 100 Dinar coins are also available. Banknotes are available in 100, 200, 500, 1000 and 2000 Dinars.

The word "Dinar" comes from a silver Roman coin called the "Denarius." In some areas of Algeria, it is common for locals to provide prices in Santeems instead of Dinars.


The Algerian Dinar replaced the Algerian Franc in 1964. Initially only coins were distributed including the 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Santeem coins and the 1 Dinar coin. Banknotes were introduced in 1964 and Santeem coins were phased out in the 1980’s. To commemorate the 50th anniversary of Algeria’s independence, a 200 Dinar bi-metallic coin was produced in 2012.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: