United Arab Emirates dirham conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

United Arab Emirates dirham →

this page last updated:: Sun 22 Jul 2018

United Arab Emirates dirham

Worldwide use:


The United Arab Emirates Dirham is the official currency for the United Arab Emirates. One Dirham is made up of 100 Fils. The currency comes in coins of 25 Fils, 50 Fils and 1 Dirham and banknotes of 5 Dirhams, 10 Dirhams, 20 Dirhams, 50 Dirhams, 100 Dirhams, 200 Dirhams, 500 Dirhams and 1000 Dirhams.

The name Dirham comes from the Greek for Drachmae which means ‘handful.’


From 1966 to 1973 the Qatar Riyal, Dubai Riyal and Bahraini Dinar were used in the UAE and before this the Gulf Rupee. The Saudi Riyal was also used at points. The UAE Dirham was established in 1973.

Component units:

Date introduced:

Central bank: