Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Canadian dollar

The official currency of Canada is the Canadian Dollar. Banknotes of the Canadian Dollar are currently issued in $5, $10, $20, $50, and $100 denominations. One Dollar is worth 100 Cents. The coinage in circulation is the 5¢, 10¢, 25¢ (commonly known as a ‘Nickel’, Dime, and Quarter respectively) and the $1 and $2 are commonly known as the Loonie and the Toonie. The one-dollar gold colored coin was introduced in 1987 and bears the images of a Canadian bird called the Loonie on one side. The Toonie is so called as it is "Two Loonies."A 50¢ coin is also available but very rare.